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INFORMATION PACKET FOR COURT-APPOINTED COUNSEL
UNDER THE CRIMINAL JUSTICE ACT

(Non-Capital Cases Only)
1. Notice to court appointed counsel of public disclosure of attorney fee information

(applicable to cases completed on or after January 25, 1998) See 18 U.S.C.
§3006A

2. Instructions regarding allowable expenses and completion of the CJA20 voucher

3. Instructions for CJA form 20 voucher

4. Instructions for In Court Hourly Worksheet, Out of Court Hourly Worksheet,
Other Expense Worksheet, and Worksheets for completion purposes and
examples of each.  

5. General Information for “Other Expenses” on the voucher

6. CJA-26, to be completed in support of any claim for excess compensation
(replaces certification memorandum of counsel).

THE FOLLOWING ARE AVAILABLE UPON REQUEST:

• CJA21 - Form for payment of experts such as investigators, psychologists, and
interpreters

• Procedures for handling Payment of Fact Witness Fees in criminal cases (fact
witnesses called by CJA attorneys pursuant to court order).

• Form OBD-2 - Instructions for Fact Witnesses Appearing on Behalf of the United
States Government (not applicable to federal employees), to be transmitted to
witness with subpoena.  NOTE: Form OBD-3 (Fact Witness Voucher) will be
furnished to court-appointed counsel after court orders witnesses subpoenaed and
“paid as though they are government witnesses.”  Per Diem and hotel rates in each
divisional office for transmittal to each witness with Form OBD-2 and Subpoena.

THE FOLLOWING ARE AVAILABLE ON THE INTERNET SITE (www.txed.uscourts.gov)

• Criminal Justice Act Plan for the Eastern District of Texas with amendment
attached

• Speedy Trial Plan for the U. S. District Court, Eastern District of Texas

INSTRUCTIONS REGARDING ALLOWABLE EXPENSES

http://www.txed.uscourts.gov
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AND COMPLETION OF CJA 20 PAYMENT VOUCHER

The following information addresses questions most frequently asked by persons preparing
expense vouchers.

*****ALL CJA FORMS MUST BE SUBMITTED FOR PAYMENT WITHIN 45 DAYS
OF THE FINAL DISPOSITION OF THE CASE!**********

Submit completed vouchers to the clerk's office or courtroom deputy assigned to appointing
judge.

USE THE CORRECT VOUCHER

• CJA 20 Counsel for defendant

• CJA 30 Counsel for petitioner/defendant in death penalty cases

• CJA 21 Experts and other services in criminal cases, such as investigators, doctors,
etc.

• CJA 31 Experts and other services in Death Penalty cases

• CJA 24 Transcripts and copies of transcripts

• CJA 26 Excess Compensation Claims (must be completed if claim is in excess of
statutory limit)

Hourly rates for attorneys in non capital criminal cases

Appointment date In court hourly rate Out of court hourly rate

prior to 1/01/2000 $65 $45

after 1/01/2000 and before
4/01/2001

$70 $50

after 4/01/2001 and before
5/01/2002

$75 $55

after 5/01/2002 and before
1/1/2006

$90 $90

1/1/2006 to 5/19/2007 $92 $92

5/20/2007 to12/31/07 $94 $94

1/1/2008 to present $100 $100
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ALLOWABLE EXPENSES EXPENSES NOT ALLOWABLE
(Not all-inclusive) (Not all-inclusive)

Copies Subscription to newspaper
Fax General Office Overhead
Westlaw/Lexis Secretarial Services
Certified mail Filing Fees
Parking Printing of Briefs
Telephone calls (itemize by date, person

    called and charges)
Travel/meals (out of pocket expenses) - Travel costs
 not to exceed the per diem of Federal Employees -
 Hotel Room (government rate) plus $38.00 for food
Copy Charges:

Current fee is .15 per page.  You must include number of pages; e.g. 3 pages @.15 = .45.

Mileage Rate:

1/13/00 to 1/21/01 = .325/mile
1/22/01 to 1/20/02 = .345/mile
1/21/02 to 1/01/03 = .365/mile
1/02/03 to 1/04/04 = .36/mile
1/05/04 to 2/04/05 = .375/mile
2/05/05 to 8/31/05 = .405/mile
9/01/05 to 12/31/05 = .485/mile
1/1/06 to 1/31/07 = .445/mile
2/1/07 to 3/18/07 = .485/mile
3/19/07 to present = .505/mile

Personal Expenses of the Defendant:

Personal expenses for the defendant (such as meals, lodging, clothing, transportation) are 
not reimbursable under CJA.
Note: See attached procedures for payment of fact witnesses called by CJA attorneys 
pursuant to court order.

Receipt Required:

For any item $50.00 or more, a receipt and/or copy of canceled check must be provided.
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If Westlaw/Lexis is used, provide copy of actual bill and brief statement of subject matter 
of the research.

If you have any questions or need forms, contact the courtroom deputy serving the court in your
Divisional Office location.

Witness Subpoenas and Payment:

Witnesses for a defendant who has court-appointed counsel are paid by the Department of
Justice (U.S. Marshal) on Form OBD-3 upon a court order designating that specifically named
witnesses “be paid as though they are government witnesses”.  They cannot be paid from CJA
funds.

Service of subpoenas is handled by the U.S. Marshal.

Worksheets:

All services and expenses must be listed on worksheets as provided in this packet.  Please
check for mathematical errors before submitting your voucher for payment.

CJA-20 PAYMENT PROCEDURE:

1. Courtroom deputy will present original CJA-20 packet (initial voucher already signed by
judge approving the appointment) to designated attorney, at hearing or by mail.

2. Upon disposition of case, court-appointed attorney will submit completed CJA-20 (and
CJA-26, if applicable), with worksheets and any required receipts to U.S. District Clerk’s
Office for auditing purposes.

3. Clerk’s Office will forward CJA 20 with worksheets to the judge for review and
signature.

4. If the amount claimed is not in excess of the statutory amount, the approved voucher will
be forwarded to the Tyler Division office for payment.  If the amount claimed exceeds the
statutory maximum, the certified voucher, supported by CJA Form 26, which has been
executed by counsel, with the certification of the assigned judge attached, will be
forwarded to the Circuit Executive for the Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals, and when
finally approved, will be returned to the Tyler Division office for payment.
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INFORMATION REGARDING INTERPRETERS

Attorneys may, when necessary, use interpreters to go with them to interview defendants.  

Please be advised that when you use them, you must only incur charges with them consistent
with our regulations.  The amount payable to interpreters follows.

CERTIFIED INTERPRETERS

This means that they are certified with the Federal Government, Administrative Office of the
United States Courts.  The three languages for which Certification has been established are
Haitian Creole, Navajo, and Spanish.  If you are not sure whether someone is certified or not, you
may call 903-590-1033 and ask for Peggy Thompson.

Full Day: $364.00
Half Day: $197.00
Overtime: $ 51.00 per hour if the interpreter spends more than 8 hours.

NON CERTIFIED INTERPRETERS

Full Day: $175.00
Half Day: $  94.00
Overtime: $  29.00 per hour if the interpreter spends more than 8 hours.

If you have trouble locating an interpreter, you may call the number listed above.

You will need to request a CJA21 for the case you are appointed, and complete that, attaching an
invoice from the interpreter, so that we can pay the interpreter.

The court will take care of obtaining an interpreter for any court settings.


