Skip to main content


Eastern District of Texas

Judge Rodney Gilstrap, Chief Judge
David A. O'Toole, Clerk of Court

Court Information

You are here

The Eastern District of Texas is made up of 43 of the 254 counties in Texas. Three of the cities in the Eastern District of Texas are on the list of the top twenty most populous cities in Texas--Plano, McKinney and Frisco.

29 district judges have been appointed to the Eastern District of Texas bench since the district was created on February 21, 1857. The court currently has five active district judges, three vacant district judgeships, two senior district judges, and eight full-time magistrate judges.